Pinwheel in motion

pinwheel

I took off, not with someone, but alone. Did not run out off the country but stepped out of the house. It was not after years or days but it was only after a couple of days that I decided to take a leave from my daily chores and visit the outside world.

I didn’t go very far from my home, but just a close by market place. I think market is the best place to socialize when you are all alone. I just love to sit somewhere and watch the people. It all seems like a movie.

My eyes were scanning through a lot of things: the office goers, the school children, the college students, the cars running at a speed, an old person trying to cross the street, mother holding her child tightly to cross the road, the desperate drivers waiting for the signal to turn green, some cutie couples snuggling around the corners of the cafe and acting to place an order when the truth was they just wanted to sit…I didn’t know then that all these activities were being registered whereas in reality I was just enjoying my moment.

Have you come across those moments in life when you become a child? I will see myself turn into one in a few minutes time.

I was watching everything as if it was my creation. Just then everything froze in front of me as I caught a glimpse of my childhood memory.

I saw it. As it was spinning around, it seemed very attractive to me. The colours were so vibrant that it had to attract your attention. It was meant to do so. I am an adult and things like these should not attract me. It’s perfectly fine for me to smile at it but not show excitement like a five year old kid. But then I did. I smiled like an adult and was little excited when I saw the pinwheel.

I didn’t know what I was doing but I knew exactly what I had to do. Claim it; at least have one and so I bought it. On the way I just kept looking at the wheel which was in motion. I didn’t care if people were looking at me or it or were not looking at us at all, for all I knew was, I was looking at the wheel and certainly enjoying it.

I kept it in an empty jar near the window where it could take uninterrupted breaths of life.

As a child I was always amazed to look at it spinning continuously. I thought it was somehow connected to the breeze. I could not comprehend the technicality behind such a simple thing. All I knew was it had a thin round wooden frame. It looked like a wheel of a cycle and instead of metal spokes had thin strips of colourful papers attached to its center. The center of the wheel was pinned to a bamboo stick.

Today as I was holding a memory of my childhood days it made me realize that it is me. The object symbolizes me in many ways. The wheel continuously spins itself with the push of the wind. Sometimes it plays along with the breeze like a playful child and then it slows down at random intervals to take a break. An unseen power, much like the breeze helps me in my movement of life. I’m the center of my wheel. The world around me has many colourful strips of paper. They are the people who are connected to me in some or the other way. Some are the close members of my family, some are my friends, some are strangers whom I know, some total strangers whom I don’t know. They all form the important part of my colourful life; I don’t know if I could have lived my life alone. I believe that these people help me to pull myself through good and bad times of my life. They are important to me as much as I’m important to them.

I’m looking at the wheel it hasn’t aged a bit in its enthusiasm. It spins to life with every opportunity and then dies slowly with the slow breeze. To me, it always seems to be smiling colourfully. It will stand for some days until the breeze weakens it or until the several hands loosens its grip from the center or just tear from somewhere middle.

I know that the life will not always be fair to me; there will be some flying days and some dying days. I know not everyone will be a part of my journey till the end of my life; some would hold my hands and some would leave. It amazes me that even when it is still, it reflects vibrancy and to me, it is happiness and life itself.

But the only question that comes to my mind is, “can I remain to be cheerful and vibrant like the pinwheel all the time?”  Can I reflect the same positivity during the grey days of my life?

Weekly Writing Challenge: Object

11 thoughts on “Pinwheel in motion

Leave a Reply

