A New Me

I entered, I was happy to see Sahil. He treats my hair like no other hair stylist. I always get my hair cut from him and no body else. He was busy brushing, combing, and massaging a customer’s hair. He looked at me and gave me a smile. He asked me to wait for some time.

I waited for him to get over with the other client but then in fifteen minutes time he called me. He asked me to sit on the chair. I sat. I always close my eyes when I sit, I don’t know why, but I always do this. Maybe I’m too confident completely entrusting myself and more importantly my hair at the hands of others. But he is no other guy, he is my hair stylist. He is the guy. Or maybe I want to meet a newer version of me.

I have known Sahil for at least four years now. He is an expert and gives the best treatment to your hair. Just like a mother leaves her children at a creche knowing that they will be taken care off in the same manner I knew Sahil will take care of my hair.
In these four years I have know him to be an expert. I have known him to give the right advice to groom my hair. He has always given the best treatment to my hair. In these four years he has always treated me “like a customer is the king”. He has understood my requirements and given a perfect hair cut to me. He had always been polite. But the one thing that he had not done in these four years was to “smile”. This was the first time he did it.

While I was sitting at my “customer’s chair” he was combing my hair, trimming it, checking for the length (because I had instructed him not to shorten the length too much). Now normally he would have taken atleast one hour but this time I was amazed at the skills that he demonstrated. He gave me a haircut and at the same time finished with the hair treatment of the other client.

I thought he likes to do everything on his own but this time I was happy to see him take the command in his hands. I had never seen him delegating work to his assistant, but this time he was. As he was applying some pack on the hair for the other client he was instructing his assistant “blow dry the hair, do it nicely…comb, comb it nicely, don’t touch the part which is clipped…now come here rinse the hair, do it properly.” Now this was the first time he not only looked commanding but also sounded commanding.

Tossing between the clients he was done with cutting my hair.

As I said I don’t look up until the final moment, where he says “Please take a look, it’s done.” That is the final moment for me. Will I be looking at a new me, will he have understood my instructions, will I have the hair cut that I had imagined, the most important will I look good, will it suit me. I realize that it is a bit too late for all this. With all these thoughts lingering in my head, I finally raise my head up in slow motion. A final thought before I look at myself, “even if it does not suit me, I’ve come to a point where I don’t care.” So, I don’t care and I look at myself and …yeah!… I have a new look. I am happy to meet the new person. She looks different.

And all thanks to…Sahil. He did it again, gave me a wonderful haircut.

Leave a Reply

