Art that I grew up with

Imagine if smoking could be a lost art, however, it is not. Listening, which is an innate quality in humans is a losing art and writing letters is already a lost art. Here are a few things that I consider as lost in time as I have not seen anyone follow it or do it in a very long time.

Making dolls at home

Now days we get all sorts of toys in the market, but there was a time when toys were carved of woods and dolls were made of pieces of rags. My grandfather did a lot of carving but he did not carve me a car or a flying eagle. However, I remember my grandmother used to make me dolls. I had other plastic dolls but I loved her doll the most. I don’t know how she made it but I just loved it. She would take pieces of clothes, some sketch pens and some black wool for her hair. I don’t remember if she used rags or cotton to stuff the doll or if she simply folded the pieces and stitched them together. Although I have seen some handmade dolls in the market but it is nowhere close to the one that she used to make. They either use plastic or wood for the face, hands and legs and their bodies don’t have any kind of stuffing in it. Hers used to be of clothes, pieces of clothes from top to bottom and nothing else. As I don’t remember making dolls the way she did I think it is already a lost art now.

Making a cassette of your favourite songs

We all have our favourite songs and favourite singers that we like listening to. I remember making a list of my favourite songs, and then collecting it and recording it in cassettes. It was difficult as I had to crunch the list to 10 to 12 songs only because that was how much one cassette could record. It sounds like a lost art to me as no one does it anymore.

Wrapping gifts at home

How about wrapping gifts at home? Invitations received, gifts bought, gift paper bought now the final question who will wrap the gift. After my grandmother I was the official person to wrap the gifts. I would make bows and tie it with a ribbon. It was then that I came to know that wrapping gifts was an art. It’s always good to receive gifts and an element of surprise could bring a smile not only to the face but to the heart as well. Wrapping the gifts just adds a magical touch of surprise to any gift. Now it’s easy- gifts bought, no gift paper required, no hassles, gift wrapped at the shop, arrive at the venue, gift it to the person.

Making and gifting handkerchiefs

It was very common to make handkerchiefs and gift it to your best friends or fiancés or even husbands. I remember some aunts and some girls sitting with their embroidery boxes and stitching the first letter of the names of their husbands or fiancés. The others who didn’t have any specific person to give the handkerchiefs to would make beautiful rose or any other flower on the piece of cloth.

Making handicrafts from simple things to decorate houses

Making handicrafts from simple things available at home, I think this is also a lost art. I remember making wall hangings from plastic bags, cardboard pieces, old calendars and old cards. These were mainly for school’s craft work project for the children. Old cards were used to make magazine holders and were found hanging on the walls. Making disco balls from the collected chocolate wrappers and vases, clocks from the collected ice cream sticks were also commonly found as decorative items at homes.

Making garlands and bouquet at home

We had a big garden and there were flowers of all kinds. In the evening my sister and I would collect flowers and sit at the veranda. We would collect enough to make small garlands from it. Flowers were also collected to make small bouquets to gift people during their birthdays and other special occasions. They were never huge but it was the gesture that counted. Cutting a few roses along with a few daisies, arranging them at the center with some big leaves and tying it with ordinary thread and my simple homemade bouquet was ready. I remember at school everyone tried to impress the teachers by giving a flower or a simple bouquet.

Repairing your own bike

I remember my father repairing and servicing his own scooter. He used to take care of it as if it was his own child. Saturday was its special day as it used to get its bath, then the nuts were tightened, check the tires, change the battery water and finally the engines were checked. These days it’s just convenient to drop it off at the service center.

These are the things that represent art to me. I associate them not only with love, dedication and affection but they also represent creativity and art which is now either lost or is replaced with new things.

In response to: A Lost Art

 

18 thoughts on “Art that I grew up with

  1. I agree with you on all these. I love writing letters, and miss the days when I had a long-distance relationship with a boyfriend (now husband) when we could write letters (and some e-mails, too). Would that people practiced these ‘lost arts’ more, I think our planet and society would be better off and we’d certainly fulfill the Reduce-Reuse-Recycle environmental equation better.

    Like

    • Hi Leigh.I loved writing letters to my friends; I think it was definitely an art to write everything on a piece of paper, putting a stamp, receiving and collecting the stamps and choosing a page from your favourite letter pad for specific person.

      Like

  2. I used to sew, knit, or crocheted stuffed toys for my children when they were young. I made wall hangings too. The favorite songs you mentioned, I also got them recorded in a cassette. No one I know do these things now.
    Reading your post reminded me of the bygone era.

    Like

    • I’m glad that my post could spark the olden days. 🙂 I miss sewing so much, knitting took to long so I didn’t like it much and I love crochet. I’m thinking of getting started on it, however time is the biggest constraint right now.

      Like

  3. These are a few lovely things. We still have the official present wrapper in our family, and also the one who makes it a personal challenge to use as much sticky tape as possible to see how long it will take us to open it.

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting your blog looks mouth watering, tempting and healthy. 😀 Good to hear that you still have an official wrapper, the sticky tape made me smile a bit :). I didn’t use too much of that, however there were many sheets of paper before one could get to the gift.

      Like

      • I know it could be exciting for the person who wraps it but I’m not sure about those who receive it, because I’ve had some irritated people as well, so they were off the surprise list and received simple wrapped gifts.

        Like

  4. Such a stunning list of crafts and traditions that are important. I hope the doll making is not lost forever. Dolls are a crucial part of being a child and to have a hand made toy is a joy!

    Like

    • Thanks for reading Lita. I just loved the doll that my granny used to make me. I was too small to learn how she did it, so I just enjoyed playing with it. And it’s true I’ve never seen that kind again ever.
      Lita loved your response on this one about the therapeutic garden and a list that would come handy when you don’t like to go to a doctor. I can just imagine sitting at such a place. It will not only have a therapeutic value to your body but also make your mind healthy as you inhale.:)

      Like

      • Ah yes, a double benefit. Thank you for pointing this out. I had forgotten the aromatherapy benefits too!

        I am so glad you had a beautiful meaningful toy to enjoy as a child. So many toys today are plastic or electronic!! I had a small rag doll that was made for me and I loved it so much! We are so lucky to have a unique toy.

        Hope you have a lovely weekend.

        Like

      • I’ve always loved the aroma of spices, specially cloves and so your garden made me think about the aromatherapy if one sat in such a garden (ofcourse apart from some other creepy creatures, eewh!) and enjoy the beauty. 🙂
        That’s so true these days it’s so easy to get the toys-all you have to do is buy it. I’m glad to hear that you also had a rag doll.

        Lots of bright smiles for Monday morning. 😀

        Like

      • Cloves have such a unique scent. I remember using them when I had tooth ache as a child. I think it helped a little!

        Sending you bright sunny thoughts for Monday too and here’s to a good week ahead 😉

        Like

      • I started eating cloves because of toothache and got addicted to it. Now thankfully I’ve stopped eating it.

        Loved your post on “Cowbridge garden “. 🙂

        Like

  5. I love wrapping presents with kraft paper, thin twine, stencils and special occasion stickers or drawings. My niece has kept hers just as is for two years. She scooted the book out carefully as to not disturb the wrapping. I still love to write letters occasionally. Would do this more if the older generation were still alive. Some of the things you mentioned were relaxing and fun to do with others. We would crochet together, wrap presents, and make decorations. Loved making our own wreaths. Nice post👍🏻

    Like

    • Thanks for reading my post, Sandy.
      I guess, that used to be fun, as you got time to spend with your friends and family members in doing so. Today you can just get everything from the market, it’s easy that ways. And you never know if people would appreciate it or not as some would find the market made things more beautiful. But still siting and embroidering a cloth was more fun and peaceful than surfing through the t.v channels or net to find what to be involved with.So, cheers! to the old art forms that are going and welcome to the newer ones that are stepping in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

