Age and life

What would a one year old toddler understand as people gather around her, and mom and dad point at a burning candle and a cake? At that age who would understand the relevance of a cake, or a candle or a party or even the people singing a birthday song for you… I didn’t. I was like that till five years, I guess, oblivious of the fact of my surroundings and my age.

That was till I was five and after that I became a little aware of these words: birthday, age, cake, flavor, party and gifts. I thought that birthday was equivalent to gifts (birthday=gifts; and not, birthday= age) and not age. Age was just a factor of getting the right gift from parents.

Till eighteen and twenty it really meant something. I really looked forward towards this day of the year as it meant so many things. It meant growing up. It meant a step towards my  independence (but not complete independence). It meant I could drink, have night outs, have boyfriends and all the things that I could not do as a child.

Then there was the phase of early twenties, which was obviously good and exciting. It meant new life, career, dreams, ambitions, car, house, marriage and life after that. Mid twenties was able to bring some panic into me, but I stayed strong and managed. And so it was only after twenty five that I started believing that age is just a number. So, that’s what I started doing whenever I blew the birthday candles I just believed that I was twenty five and ever since I’ve stayed twenty five. Now please don’t take my word for it; it only means that I look much younger than other people of my age. The funny part is people are not able to guess my real age (so I guess it really works…staying young at heart, believing that it is just a number and whatever to make you feel good) So, do I care? I think earlier I use to, but now I don’t…it is just a number and I’m happy to continue my life’s journey.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

4 thoughts on “Age and life

  1. I love this post because it makes me hopeful and happy. For me it is the age of 35 I am! Birthdays are for celebrating so this is how I celebrate 😉 I agree that your mental outlook relates to how old you look. Here’s to lots of happy birthdays with lovely big cakes.

    Like

    • Lita, you are too kind with your words, thanks. 🙂
      If 40 is the new 20s then you are in your teens. So enjoy every moment. Cheers to all those yummy cakes and memorable b’days which are on your way. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

