Image

Life is full of adventures

Life is full of adventures only if we step out of our comfort zone. Only if I was so certain as to think that tomorrow things will happen exactly the same way I had thought and planned, I would have never known what adventure is? Only if I had to take a step born out of an uncertain situation I would be facing adventure in my life.

Adventure is a part of life. For rich adventure means- horse riding, car racing, gambling and many more. For a poor adventure is- looking for a job, getting a meal may be two times a day, shopping for a new pair of shoes, staying under a roof that partially provides protection from the sun, rain or snow. For a wild animal adventure is-jungle, survival, being a prey, becoming a predator. For a pet adventure would be- going on a walk, playing with someone, running around the house all alone, a chase with a vet.

place on top of a hill

This a temporary house of Gaddi people (locals of Himachal Pradesh, India). It is said that during winter months they make such houses for their cattle like sheep and goats to stay. They would stay there throughout winter as the sun is direct and is helpful for the survival of their cattle in terms of more green pastures and warmth. Once winter is over they come down with their cattle. I was fortunate enough to capture this as they mostly get damaged during thunderstorms. Life for any person living in the mountains is full of adventure, even their everyday routine is full of adventure. As I stood here I kept thinking how their life would have been and how they would have spend their time staying at such a great height where the normal mode of transportation is only walking.

imaginary unicorn

The sun was setting and this poor thing was running up and down for at least five minutes (long enough for me to take a click)making some noise. It was a white mule I guess against the white snow that stirred up some thoughts in my mind. I thought what if it was playing hide and seek calling for the other friends of it. What if it was looking for its partner or calling its child. Apart from this, the sun was about to set and since it was moving frantically it reminded me of Cinderella trying to leave the party at midnight. What if this animal had a power and could turn into a white unicorn or had a home beyond a waterfall. All my answers still left unanswered I could see it disappearing in the white snow mysteriously as it had appeared in front of me. Perhaps I could have gone after it, I’m sure it would have been an adventure of its kind.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/adventure/

 

5 thoughts on “Life is full of adventures

  1. It is striking how simple the stone hut is and how functional. The herders stay with the animals and they keep each other warm through the winter. It’s worked for thousands of years.

    Like

    • On my way I had seen a half built wall on the same hill I guess the person didn’t find that place suitable enough. But I was in awe to see this complete house as it had one room (I guess for the Shepard) and one for the cattle and a small veranda kind of a bordered space. I think a lot of art goes into laying such raw stones instead of the normal brick and whenever I’ll such a structure I’ll see myself standing and admiring it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BookOfBokeh says:

    Lovely story and great pictures. Life *is* an adventure, and too often people are living it so quickly they never come to understand it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

