777 Challenge

Kate Murray has nominated me for the 777 challenge. She is a successful writer with two of her works published and one in progress. Apart from her writing skills she is amazing with her illustrations.
The 777 challenge needs you to first go to the seventh page of your ongoing work. Then scroll down to the seventh line of the script and share the next seven lines of the work in progress with everyone. Once this is done you need to tag seven other writers to the challenge. Of course, one is free not to participate due to contractual agreement or make changes to participate, whichever suits you the best.
Firstly, I would like to nominate these writers for the challenge. They are all great writers each different in their writing styles. I would request you to check their blogs for more reads.  Please note that the list is in alphabetical order and cannot be taken otherwise.
Getting On Top
Leigh’s Wordsmithery
Litadoolan
Pilot Fish
Ramisa The Authoress
Snow’s Fissures And Fractures
S. Thomas Summers: Writing With Some Ink And A Hammer
I have altered the challenge a bit for myself. Currently I’m working on a short story. I’ve taken a few lines from a chapter which is still in progress. I have made some changes to the lines as well.
 So here it is. I hope you like it.

 

It was a great comfort to be walking all alone on a deserted stretch of street. At random intervals, I was bathed under a street light.

The moon was doing what it did every night. It was suited up in a shiny steel armour. I’m sure I had noticed a small grin on its face one that I had never seen before. But I didn’t care about it. All I could see was my shadow.

I had never thought that I’ll be left all alone but I was. My only companion was the one who was walking with me – my dark shadow.

What was strange about today was that, what could have been a perfect night was no longer perfect. I had intended to bring changes to my life but instead the world had punched me so hard that I could not feel my tummy at all.


 

 


9 thoughts on “777 Challenge

  1. Oh, Norma, your excerpt is so much more interesting than the one from my novel-in-progress (NIP?). [I particularly love this understated line you have: “The moon was doing what it did every night.”[ Guess my page 7 is a dud! Anyway, regardless, I’ll try to post something here in the next day or so and tag a few people who might like to participate.

    Like

    • Thanks Leigh for your feedback and I’m glad you liked it. I make so many changes before and after an outline pops into my mind sometimes the story is totally different than what I had initially thought of.
      I would love to read your work as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

