A hint of sunshine

Yellow dahlia from the vase

We cherish the warmth of sunshine everyday in our lives. An absence of sun in the sky is bound to bring dullness in our day. Sunshine is warmth. Other than sun, what else could be a symbol for warmth?

I can think of sunflower, it is next to sun god itself. With its bright yellow colour it is forever ready to add sunshine to our faces. Marigold is warmth irrespective of its colour yellow or orange, it doesn’t really matter. A yellow dahlia is warmth. Artificilal lights breathe a life of warmth into our lives. I remember oil lamps and there yellow glow brightening a dark room.

So, it would be right to assume that: sun= warmth = sunflower = marigold = lights. And all this is equivalent to the colour yellow. Come to think of it, every colour has some purpose and so does the colour yellow. What I like about this colour is its quality or power to instantly brighten a dull day or even heighten up our low spirits. What I’m saying is: we need yellow, we need sunshine. It’s not necessary to… like… the colour – yellow – but we need it. Even if we are not aware of liking it, our day begins with it.

I love the bright sun peeping into my window early morning. I feel it is smiling at me, waking me up, motivating me, giving me some kind of power or strength to kick start my day and continue with the same spirit. To be honest, I do want the sun to play hide and seek with me sometimes so that I get to stretch for long hours and get a prolong night sleep. But then I’m reminded of foggy winter days which are the same as evenings and I don’t want that. The absence of sun brings a dull feeling along with some kind of helplessness which stretches for the entire 24 hrs. I don’t want that, who wants that…no one, right?

I want the sun to shine… everyday, specially during the winter days.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-6/

 

Leave a Reply

