MJ and a Life Chapter

MJ is my next door neighbor and he often storms into my house, unannounced.He is a great storyteller and is really good at it. I enjoy his ramblings. Plus he is an adorable six year old kid.

This time his story – spending time with his father on a Saturday, fishing by the river. He said, “Just me and dad, went fishing.”

“So how many fish did you catch?” I asked him.

“No! I didn’t catch fish. I got stones from there. Dad said that water is dangerous and cold and I should be sitting on the stool. I got bored and started collecting the stones.”

“So, Jake how many stones did you get?” I asked.

“I got a whole box. Come with me I’ll show them to you.”

On his request I went with him to his house.

There they are and he pointed towards his garden. He had painted the stones and placed them in the garden. Colourful stones – small, big, red, yellow, green, dotted, lines all placed in the garden. I was impressed with MJ’s talent and told him that one day he will be a great landscape artist. He gave me a big smile.

A few days after MJ came to my house again. I knew he had something to tell me. I asked him, “What’s the matter MJ? Where had you been?”

“Nowhere, I was busy shopping with mom and aunt. They took me to buy veggies and fruits.”

“What all did you buy?” I asked knowing that he would share it anyways.

“Do you know Mr.D this time I got to pick some tomatoes from there. Mom gets very angry when I touch things in the shop but Aunt Liz showed me how to pick them up. She got a basket and we filled it. She said that I picked some real good tomatoes and gave me some to eat as a reward for my work.” MJ was very happy with his experience and after some time went back home.

That day MJ taught me something. In life, when you get tomatoes eat them. And when you get stones paint them and use them rather than sulk in them. At any cost Jake just enjoyed and displayed his talent.

2 thoughts on “MJ and a Life Chapter

Leave a Reply

