Christmas herbs and dew drops.

I have reblogged this, I hope that’s fine with you. Thanks.

readsbyredriverbanks

Did you know that the name for the herb Rosemary comes from Latin and literally means ‘rose or dew of the sea’? What a whimsically beautiful translation.

I read the other day that rosemary is a very Christmassy herb, which I was quite surprised by.  I have never really thought of it as such.  Spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, yes, but I don’t think there is a single herb that I would instinctively think of as being particularly linked to the seasonal festivities of Christmas.

So I started to do a little investigating into rosemary.  I know it well as a culinary herb and a very useful essential oil, but why a Christmas herb? Well, it turns out there is a huge amount written about the traditions, customs, folklore and superstitions attached to rosemary.  It may well have Christmas associations, but this herb has so many other meanings attached to…

View original post 689 more words

3 thoughts on “Christmas herbs and dew drops.

  1. Thanks so much for the re-blog, Norma. Expect more of the same – the more I do of these posts, the more fascinating I am finding the folklore and history of flowers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

