My pens lasted longer

I’m participating in the Friday Fictioneers for the first time. I hope to receive an honest feedback. I’m thankful to Rochelle for hosting such an event for all the writers.

Copyright –  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

I’ve been standing here to look at the bench under the tree and I still see it’s empty. The last time I had seen her, she was playing with a piece of wood in her hands.

Her mum looked twice her age. The number of pens in my pen stand seemed less compared to the number of children in her family.

“So, she is not the last one.”

“No. One still on the way.”

“What will you do? I mean how would you manage?”

“Oh! No worries. She will be married by next autumn.”

“But she is too young. Don’t you think?”

“Young…we are poor. That’s all I know.”

 

14 thoughts on “My pens lasted longer

  1. Dear Norma,

    This is an argument for birth control. 😉

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I’ll warn you, it’s highly addictive. I started as one of the gang nearly three years ago and you can see where it got me. I was hooked at first write.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Thanks for your time Rochelle, glad you could read and comment.:)
      Thanks for the warm welcome. I always feared participating as the writers here are simply great. I must admit it was a challenge to write a story in just 100 words. I don’t know how I did it but I did it.

      Like

    • Hey Joy! Thanks for visiting.
      No problem. The owner is standing in the balcony and used to watch a girl play under the tree with a wooden piece. After some time the girl was not to be seen. So the owner asked her mother. The mother was poor and was about to have a baby and since the girl had stepped into puberty the family was thinking of getting her married. So a little about birth control and a little about the take on life from a poor person’s point of view.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

