A Musical Turn

Rochelle is the kind host of FRIDAY FICTIONEERS and every week she shares a photo with us. All we have to do is write a story in 100 words. I admire all the writers and enjoy their reads as everyone is likely to tell a different story.

This week’s photo is shared by David Stewart. Thank you David.

Copyright - David Stewart

In a house, a rocking chair creaked along with the music being played at the gazebo.

“Mama, I’m going.” said Kathy.

The music was still playing when the old lady drifted to sleep.

The next day she woke with a knock at the door. A police officer greeted her. With a photo in his hands he asked, “Do you know her?”

“Sorry, I can’t see.”

“Oh! I’m sorry. Let me help you…with….”

“Sure if you could…get my medicine…I can’t….”

“Yes,” said the officer and entered. An uneasy feeling settled as he looked at a photo hung on a wall.

He knew… there will be no medicine for a grieving heart.

 

19 thoughts on “A Musical Turn

  1. A very sad story, Norma, which you have told really well. The police officer coming to the house was a good idea. I can visualise how the old lady will react when he tells her the awful news.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading and commenting on the story, Millie.
      I thought of a murder when the officer came who would do it was unclear to me. Then, somehow I wrote another version although it was a sad one I continued with it.
      Have a wonderful week ahead. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

