On the book “Shadow Of The Raven”

I had been busy the past few days…doing what you ask. Well, I was reading “Shadow Of The Raven” by Millie Thom. With a red dress and a hat in the gravatar of WP probably a lot of people would know her. For the others who do not know her, I can only say that she is a terrific blogger and has immense love for history. She has written two books and is writing the third one to the “Sons Of Kings” series.

I was very excited to read this book because firstly it was written by a fellow blogger and secondly only a few days back I had installed Kindle app to be able to read more books by other blogger friends.

I haven’t written any book reviews so please don’t consider it to be one. Whatever I’m writing is out of excitement to share with my fellow bloggers in the sole interest that I found this book absolutely interesting.

This is the first historical fiction novel that I had picked up for reading and I enjoyed every bit of it. Although new to the Anglo-Saxon and Danes era, this book helped me to see the bloody time that had existed in the past. With bits of historical facts and fiction the book is set up in the 9th century England.

Eadwulf is the main character of the story. Unaware of his future Eadwulf thinks “Being the son of a king could be so boring at times….” Only time will tell of an adventure that is not kingly in any way. Other than the royal blood pulsating in him, he also has a warrior spirit in him. He decides to take things under control when all, and at last… his love is taken away from him and given to another.

With a list of characters the story line is a tale of hate, mistrust, misery, slavery, torture, old customs and a whole lot of other things. The beginning was a bit slow (for me) but after sometime it really picked up momentum and when it did I had my claws in the book. The descriptive and refined language made it easy to see and feel through the book’s window. It was almost as if I was watching “game of thrones” (another version of course) but with little less of brutality.

In the end I would like to say that the book served its purpose… that is – it made me watch the story like an observer. Of course, I didn’t feel an axe falling on me when the sacrifices were done (if you want to know that). The ending left me hooked with some unanswered question…that’s why you have the second book, right. 😉 I’m certain that I’ll find the answers there.

Thanks to the kindle my first book is over and I’ll be heading for another one very soon until then keep working and sleeping. 🙂

7 thoughts on “On the book “Shadow Of The Raven”

  1. Thank you so much for this, Norma. 🙂 I didn’t even know you were reading my book, so it was a great surprise to see your post in my Reader. I realise the Anglo Saxon names are difficult, but many of my characters were real people, so names can’t be changed. I know this makes the opening chapter slow to get into for some people, especially those to whom English is not the first language. I’m glad you enjoyed it after that.
    Thank you again for the great review (even though you aren’t calling it one.) ❤

    Like

    • I had mentioned it on one of the comments earlier but when I didn’t hear from you I thought you probably want me to read and find out the answers on my own. I agree that the names were a bit difficult (in terms of pronunciation) and nothing much can be done about them when they truly existed. That could have been one of the reasons to slow me down or my approach to the book with a preconceived notion based on a few other reviews. Don’t know, as I said I’m no expert in the matter.
      In the end I was really excited about the book, Millie. I just loved and enjoyed the book all the way to the last page. I can only imagine the amount of research work that you must have put into it. I should be reading the second book soon enough. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you enjoyed the book after the first section, Norma. 🙂 And yes, I spent a lot of time reasearching both Alfred’s life and the Danish way of life. A nice long holiday in Denmark was really helpful, and we visited lots of Viking sites and museums and saw a few reenactments of battles. The second book is different to the first, in that it focuses more on Alfred – grown up by then. So the story is set in the Anglo Saxon kingdoms rather than Denmark. Some people liked it better than Book 1, others prefer Book 1. It’s all down to personal taste, after all.
        I’m really grateful that you took the time to read my book, Norma, so a very big ‘thank you’ to you. ❤

        Like

      • Welcome, Millie. 😀 I’m so excited to read the second one as well. I haven’t bought it till now but soon will.
        WP just surprises me – there are so many bloggers and there are so many amazing authors. Of late I wanted to start reading some of the books by other bloggers. Yours was the first on my list. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • And I’m very grateful for that. I can only assume if you want to read Book 2 that you enjoyed it. 😀 I’ve read a few by fellow bloggers, and put reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, I’m reading one now – a murder mystery centred around a boarding kennels in the US. It’s different to what I normally read, but good fun and nicely written.

        Like

    • If you love this era then I’m sure you’d enjoy this book. This was the very first book of this kind that I had picked to read. I really enjoyed it. It’s a well researched and a well written book. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

