The Chase

Barbara Beacham is the kind host of Monday’s Finish the Story. Every week a photo and the first sentence of the story is shared and the challenge is to finish the story in 100 – 150 words. Thanks Barbara for this week’s photo and the challenge. I am participating after a long time, but after looking at this picture I couldn’t resist the story that came to my mind. Thanks to all the readers for their time and helpful comments.

Finish the story begins with:  He thought he found the perfect hiding spot, but he was wrong.

The chase had lasted for an eternity. My tiny heart pumped like a machine, ready to run separately from my body.

Finally it was my turn when he slept. I whispered in his ears. The whole night he kept tossing and turning. My belly danced as I laughed…enjoying the moment of his sleeplessness. His eyes were drowsy, in the morning.

He had no idea who I was, but for me – he was “the one”.

He had driven me to the motorway where my body became a pulp as a car ran over me. The good in me tried to convince me, “It’s not his fault.” I rested my case by saying, “Nah! I’m already dead. I can’t kill him, but I can at least make him crazy.”

Crazy he had not become till now, but I was happy to see him scared.

2015-07-27-bw-beacham

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “The Chase

  1. Revenge is sweet, so they say. And in this case, this man deserves to be driven crazy. Love the idea of a ghost cat… his haunting howl must be very funny to hear. Great story, Norma. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Millie. 🙂
      Oh, I wanted it to be a ghost rat but I think my writing somehow reflects a ghost cat as also expressed by Barbara. 😦 As I was reading and typing the comment I saw what you meant. I would like to thank you as your comment allowed me to see this story from a totally different perspective.:) And now I too like the idea of a ghost cat haunting its master. Thanks Millie. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Norma. I’m sorry it’s taken so long to reply to this, but I’ve been away for eight days and the internet wasn’t available for most of those! I’ve a lot to catch up on now. I really enjoyed your story … 🙂

        Like

      • No worries. 🙂 You had mentioned that you’ll be going on a vacation (in one of the comments earlier)…with no posts I assumed you had already left.
        Thanks again Millie. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

