Taking a student’s seat

Hello, dear friends. I know… been a while…been busy. I really missed saying hellos, posting comments, and reading.

My smooth blogging life was shaken and stirred when I started taking driving lessons.

People say, “There is no right age for learning”. I believe and agree with that saying. But driving scares me. Driving in anger and not in a sane mind is what I had always thought of. So, how was I to learn driving?

As I’m no longer a teenager, I was not very sure if I was scared (of the obvious reason – accidents) or disliked the idea of taking control (as I feared for my life and the living around me). Inspite of my medium sized horrors my courage had reasoned out with my fear.

It also turned out that my fear and resistance had given rise to a new kind of excitement. I was excited not to sit behind the wheels but to sit on a student’s seat.

I knew what kind of student I would be. The only thing I was unsure of, was – what kind of teacher or driving instructor will I get. I was a bit nervous and scared as I had heard some miserable experiences of other learners and how the instructors could be mean to learners.

Finally, the day came, when I was to meet my driving instructor. I was excited. We exchanged smiles. Behind my hesitant smile I was trying to ascertain how good or bad teacher will she be. Although, not sure if she was doing the same with me – judging me as a quick or a slow learner.

We started with the lessons.

Day 1 – was important to me, and the little body on four wheels. I was having a hard time understanding its functions and handling it. I felt I was at war with my senses…checking the mirrors, controlling the steering wheels, gears, clutch, brake and accelerator. I pitted myself and my four-wheel companion as it made noise while I struggled with it.

My instructor didn’t need a master’s degree to understand that I was scared. She asked me to stop and relax. She allowed me to drive at the lowest speed to get a feel of the three musketeers – clutch, brake and accelerator.

Day 2 was much better. I still had to learn a lot but I felt relaxed.

As the days passed, I think, I got better with managing the three musketeers and other controls.

What really encouraged me was the support and positive attitude of my instructor or teacher towards me. Never was she rude and always patient (a trademark of a good teacher). If I missed something, she would say, “I’m going to constantly repeat the instruction till you get it right.” She kept repeating, until I was taking the right kind of U-turns or changing lanes or applying the brakes. When I would stop in the traffic, she would instruct me calmly. She would say, “Don’t worry. We are just learning. Don’t hasten otherwise you will commit mistake and it might take longer. Whatever you do…do it slowly and gently.” Gently I would get started and off we would go.

She had surpassed my checklist of a good teacher. Her excitement and keenness to teach had motivated me to leave my fears behind and learn freely. Her cool and calm attitude had pushed me to try better every time.

Our combination, of obedient student and dedicated teacher had worked well. Up to an extent I think we both have been successful in our process of teaching and learning.

I’m still learning as she thinks I need some more practice and confidence.

14 thoughts on “Taking a student’s seat

  1. I’m so glad you’ve got a great teacher, Norma. The other day, I was just thinking of the one quality, if a person could have no other, that was most valuable to parenting, and I kept coming up with just that you said she exhibited: utmost patience. I had a horrific driving teacher (one of them, anyway), and I suffered [at the time, more so than now] because of that. In any case, wishing you the very best; it sounds like you’re well on your way to wonderful things. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Leigh, so glad to see you.:) I’ve been missing a lot on blogging but after a few more classes will be back. 😀
      Thanks for your best wishes. 🙂
      It’s so sad that you had to go through a bad learning experience. I was really horrified at first but she was always patient and still is. I think when we see an adult learner we think the person should know…must know but the teacher (any kind) fails to understand that a learner is a learner. They might know more or less but not everything.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Once you give yourself “permission” to make mistakes, you start to feel better. And a great teacher helps too. It just takes time and practice. You’ll get there! What inspired you to learn at this point? Did it become more of a necessity?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s quite right Patti.
      🙂 Necessitiy…yes…my hubby dear enrolled me for a class as he wanted me to be able to drive on my own. He knew had he asked I would have come up with an excuse. I had read somewhere the best way to learn swimming is to jump in a river where there are crocodiles. Chances are you would run and try to paddle for your life and if not that….;) Well, I don’t know, if that was true but I found it very funny. Just, smash it on the face of fear. Either you’ll run or it’ll run away from you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

