Not until next year

This is a story for Friday Fictioneers, which is hosted by Rochelle. Every week you are challenged to write a 100 word story based on a photo. For this week’s photo, thanks to Jan Wayne Fields.

photo-prompt-jan-wayne-fields

“Do you have everything in there?”

“Yes.”

“Good.”

“Now, we’ll just have to wait for the night sky.”

“I hope everything works well this time.”

“Don’t worry, it will. Haven’t you heard: Think positive and it’ll be positive.”

***

“It’s time. Bring the chicken.”

“What chicken? I thought you’ll get it.”

***

It sounded like a war was being fought inside the tent.

***

Until, next equinox the sacrificial white cloth has preserved its cleanliness. Although, it fears if it continues like this, the fools of this generation will never be able to make a sacrifice ever.

11 thoughts on “Not until next year

    • I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries on the pyramids, and I think subconsciously that tent reminded me of that triangle figure…I couldn’t think of anything else other than a sacrifice. But the funny part was only added later. I too laughed at it when it came to my mind. 😉
      Glad that you too enjoyed it Moon. 🙂

      Like

  1. I like the interaction between these two characters, Norma. It seems as though they’re on different wavelengths altogether. Impending war, indeed… Let’s hope one of them doesn’t decide to pursue the sacrificial ritual with’ something’ other than a chicken as an offering. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoyed reading your writing after a while Norma (I’ve kind of been missing from the blogging world for a bit)! A belated happy new year to you, I hope everything is well with you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

