Life is all that I have

“Life is all that I have,” she said.

Spreading its colourful wings as it hovered into the sky.

A tiny body packed in vibrant colours;

She flew high to kiss the sun.

She came down to embrace the flowers.

“Life is all that I have,” she said.

And so, I shall live;

As she went up the hill,

and raced down the streams.

All colours she had seen;

All colours she had lived,

Except for one.

A day came as it tried to fly,

But there was no fun.

The sun became black.

butterflygarden2Darkness was all her sight,

But she was not afraid

For she said again,

“Life was all that I had”

And I have lived all the colours vibrant and gay

Now let the night cover me,

For it is in this night that I’ll find a new light.

2 thoughts on “Life is all that I have

Leave a comment