Survival…a basic human instinct

flower

Survival and struggle have always been a part of human lives. I guess it wouldn’t be wrong to say that survival and struggle go hand in hand. We have always struggled in order to survive. The nature of these two could be different; however, the message is only one- to instil in us our survival instincts.

I remember when I was may be 20 yrs old and wanted to be independent (the whole idea was to have pocket money from working). I was glad to have found a job as a teacher in a nearby school. For the first time in my life I was going to do something without anybody’s help.

flying

How did I feel?

I guess I was ready to fly (of course with invisible wings). The first day was just about okay, with the introduction and allotment of the classes. None of it really made a difference (at least for now), as the spirit in me kept me high.

A few days got over and my spirit was getting shattered. I didn’t know how to deal with the kids. The kids really admired me (they always admire a fresh face, I guess). However, I found it difficult to manage the class.

Any ways, I kept on going. I was not ready to sink, so I kept on struggling in order to survive. I wanted to work but within 21 days I was out of the school.

It had happened, as one day the principal had summoned me to his office. He handed me an envelope. I feared that it would have a letter, and if so what about my pay. But the silence was broken soon enough, when he said,”This is your payment for 21 days. You are not a good teacher; maybe you could try somewhere else.”

Oh! I couldn’t feel a thing. Needless to say after such a good feedback I was depressed. I started to think; I’m such a failure that I couldn’t even do what others of my age were doing so easily. Then I thought, of course they could be doing what I failed at and maybe I’m meant to do something that they won’t be doing.

crown

After sometime I became a soft skills trainer. The first time I got the opportunity I did remember what the principal had told me. The dialogue had made a haunting impression, and it made my feet tremble a little to walk towards the new opportunity. But I wanted to struggle, and I did survive.

Today I’m happy being a trainer. The people really like my training. Most of them walk up to me and say that the training has made a difference in their lives. It sure does make me happy to know that I could help someone in some aspect of their lives.

Today and always I’ll be thankful for the situation that once inflicted pain in me. It also helped me to struggle and swim and not to be prey to depression or hurt of what others believe of me. It taught me to survive and be strong and believe in me that I could not only swim but reach a shore triumphantly.

Leave a comment